Support the Shaw Lecture

The Spencer G. Shaw Lecture Series was established in Spencer’s honor when he retired in 1986 after 17 years on the UW faculty. Every year, a leading figure in children's literature comes to the UW campus to speak to MLIS students, K-8 teachers and librarians. Famed authors and illustrators such as Tom Feelings, Maurice Sendak, Ashley Bryan, Margaret Mahy, Gary Soto, Laurence Yep, Theodore Taylor, Susan Cooper, Katherine Paterson, Milton Meltzer and Jerry Pinkney have participated. Recent authors have included Walter Dean Myers, Gerald McDermott and Patricia McKissack. This year’s author is Jane Yolen. As a final tribute to Spencer Shaw, the UW iSchool would like to endow this lecture series so that it will honor Spencer in perpetuity and continue to attract the best authors and illustrators in the field to speak at the UW.

To make your gift to the Spencer G. Shaw Lecture Series, visit the UW's secure Giving website.